Gold Key Athletes Help Usher in Sports Hall of Fame

Athletes young and not-so-young enjoyed a festive evening at the Woodbury Country Club at the recent Walt Whitman Gold Key and fourth annual Wildcat Sports Hall of Fame awards dinner. This has become one of the hottest tickets in South Huntington’s busy awards season, and this year topped the charts in every way. From the cocktail hour under the big tent to the elegant sit-down scrumptious dinner, the Woodbury Country Club treats Whitman like the good neighbor it is. As Walt Whitman’s Gold Key and scholarship senior athletes prepared to graduate, they helped usher distinguished Whitman athletes into the Hall of Fame. Whitman’s Gold Key recipients have demonstrated outstanding athletic participation by lettering in a combination of eight junior varsity or varsity seasons in grades 10 through 12. The Wildcat Booster Club and the South Huntington Athletic Department co-sponsored the dinner, which included tributes to the many family members and friends who joined in acknowledging the honorees’ accomplishments.

Gold Key Recipients

Robert Algierie,Gregory Apostle, Patrick Cummings, Nickolas DeNuzzo, Cassidy Donovan, DarrellFelder, Morgan Gieser, Taylor Goehler, Charlotte Grady, Roberto Guzman, JillianKelly, Leanna Kelly, Brian Krainer, Christopher Laucella, Xavier Livingston,Ryan Naughton, TaylorO'Toole, Abhishek Parekh, Kenneth Phillips, Thomas Quit, Richard Rallo, Danielle Saccente, Fatima Saravia, Michael Smitelli, Larry Tillman, Nicholas Tremblay, and Christian Vitale.                       


Scholarship Winners                                   

Anthony Campanella, Danyal Cheema, Patrick Cumming, SamanthaDelle, Kaitlin Dickson, Alexandra Dukes, Darrell Felder, Brian Grennan, ChrisLucella, Mike McFelia, Taylor O'Toole, Kenny Phillips, Kelly Powers, Elizabeth Quinn, Luke Rise, Jonathan Ross, Larry Tillman, and Alyssa Vallar.


Athletes of the Month                                   

Kelly Bilodeau, Joseph Calderone, Zachary Cammer, Danyal Cheema, Vincent Colapinto, Jacqueline Crunden, Patrick Cummings, Michael Damato, Alexandra Dukes, Darrell Felder, Casey File, Rachel Guida, Eleanor Harvey, Samantha Myers-Dineen, John Palazzolo, Elizabeth Quinn, Brandon Stone, and Jaclyn Wirth.


Hall Of Fame Inductees                                   

Enez Boozer, Kelly Schaeffer, Erin Gilroy-Triolo, Jim Schwartz, Ralph Lewis, Edwin Martin, and Richard Thompson.