Scholars Club Inaugural Awards Ceremony


Walt Whitman Principal John Murphy began a new tradition on Tuesday, February 9, 2016, with the formation of a Scholars Club Award designation. Based on SAT and ACT test scores, students and their families were honored at a breakfast at Walt Whitman's library. Principal Murphy introduced honored guests including Board of Education members Ms. Lisa Brief, Ms. Linda LaCara, and Mr. Nicholas Ciappetta. Superintendent Dr. David Bennardo commended the students after introducing District Administrators, Mrs. Jacqueline Harris, Dr. Joseph Centamore and Dr. Jared Bloom. Walt Whitman administrators did a fantastic job organizing the event as parents, honored students and guests mingled over a hot breakfast.

“Not only do you personify the best Walt Whitman has to offer, you represent a true cross section of America,” said Principal Murphy in his welcome address.  “You have realized that knowledge and education have promoted you to where you are today.  Your hard work and self-sacrifice have led you to open new doors that will permanently remain open.”

Principal Murphy thanked parents, families, teachers, and the people who inspired our students. “All of this could not have been possible without the help and support of your family and teachers,” added Mr. Murphy.   “It is because of your sacrifice and support, [that] your children are the wonderful human being they are today.   They will succeed in life because of you and how you raised them.”

Congratulations to the first class of Walt Whitman Scholar Club inductees: Valerie Abbene, Catherine Aiello, Jason Argeseanu, Waris Barakzai, Keya Bartolomeo, Hans Bas, Jacob Bronson, Joseph Buckshaw IV, Julia Canigiani, Nicholas De Blasio, Ahmad Ejaz, Joseph Esposito, Dillon Feinman, Theodore Fisher, Taylor Fox, Colin Gilmartin, Matthew Goldstein, Alec Gonzalez, David Grey, Douglas Guida, David Hamilton VI, Ariel Khatchatourian, Joonho Ko, Wayne Koziatek, Derek Lap, Christina Lofaso, Michael Lorello, Hamza  Mahmood, Douglas Marr, Amanda Moletz, Ellysandra Monegro, Michelle Nardelli, Zenab Ojibe, Brandon O'Rourke, Julianna Pasquarello, Misha Patel, Rose Pedretti, Margaret Pigliacelli, Gabrielle Ramirez, Austin Salas, Umaimah Saleemi, Colin Sherland, Jannon Smith, Joseph Weindling, Ashley Weisser, Thao Williams, and Tyler Zeoli.

Photo Gallery