Storybook Playoff Run Comes to an End


The Boys Varsity Soccer Team's season abruptly came to end with a difficult 1-0 loss to the #2 seed Commack in the Suffolk County Championship Game on Friday November 7.  It was an even game with both teams getting offensive chances. Commack broke through halfway into the second half.  Whitman threw everything they could at the Cougars, but could not get the equalizer. 

Although the season ended on a loss, the Wildcats created quite a buzz around the district.  The team won the League II Title for the first time in 18 years.  They upset top seeded Brentwood in OT in the County Semi-finals. The team scored 60 goals on the year.  This mark was near the top of Suffolk County.  Whitman finished ranked #2 in Suffolk County, #4 in Long Island, and #13 in the New York State polls.

“We are so incredibly proud of our Men's Varsity Soccer Team and their coaches on a storybook playoff run,” said Superintendent Bennardo in his weekly email newsletter. 

“This team will certainly miss its graduating seniors who provided leadership and tough play,” said Coaches John DiGiacomo and Brian Karcz.  “However, there is a strong nucleus of sophomores and juniors that will be returning next year.  Coupling that with a JV Team that went undefeated for the second straight year under Coach Tedesco, the near future does indeed seem bright.”

The goal for the Wildcats next year will be to pick up where they left off.  That was the goal this year after losing in the quarterfinals last year against eventual champion, Smithtown West.  And each year the Wildcats get closer and closer to their goal of winning it all.

Coach DiGiacomo and Coach Karcz are extremely proud of this team's accomplishments this season.  The team will begin working again towards their goal of a championship season in a few months--starting in the weight room. “We would like to thank everyone who supported us this year,” said the coaches. “We heard you cheering from the stands.  See you next year.”

Congratulations to:  Henry Alfaro, Oscar Alfaro, Blake Aronson, Fabrizio Chamorro, Jose Chavez, Jonathan Consolo, Javier Dubon, Matthew Goodman, Carlos Granados, Witman Hernandez-Fernandez, Jameson Latko, Michael Lorello, Marrion Mahadeo, Albert Martinez, William Mejia, Jonathan O’Toole, Christian Pineda, Derick Ramos, Isias Reyes, Shane Sacks, Austin Salas, Matthew Schindler, Edwin Ulloa Moreira, and Sean Zagorski.  Congratulations, as well, to the dedicated coaches—John DiGiacomo and Brian Karcz—and the parents who supported the team during the season.